Escape from Alcatraz, part 2

 

The felons

This morning began with blazing heat, broken fences, and angry neighbors.

I was at the hardware store by 8 a.m. buying reinforcements for the fencing sections that our goats so obligingly tore through yesterday.  By 8:20, I was knee deep in tall grasses, swatting back gnats and other winged creatures in 89 degree steam.  One bee sting and a few knicks and bangs later and the fence was secure.  Take that, neighbor.

At 9:15, I went inside to wash up, check messages, and organize our day.  At 10:30, I looked out at our back pasture.  Two sheep.  No goats.

Are you freaking kidding me!!??!!

There, in the back of our farm, was our neighbor, walking back from her stumpy bushes, phone in hand.  I was absolutely sure she wasn’t calling me to chat.  She wasn’t calling me at all.  Her finger was aiming at her speed-dial connection to animal control.

My daughters and I ran out and dutifully wrangled the beasts back in through the hole in the fence (AGAIN.)

I’m hot.  Sticky.  My girls are laughing.  Good summer fun as far as they’re concerned.

Short of building a concrete wall around the pasture, I can’t think of another option to keep these incorrigible fiends within their boundaries.

I’m sitting here, waiting for Michelle, our friendly animal control officer, to stop by.  We know each other well by now.  Practically friends.  She’ll be here, smiling.  Offering advice and comfort but flanking those smiles with words of warning.

I’ll be expecting my name in the paper again.

John Denver told us all that “Life on the farm was kind of laid back.”

John Denver lied.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 13:02:26

    You know I live vicariously through these farm-goat posts. My (fantasy) pet goat Lola does not stray at all, but she is not nearly as entertaining and as exhausting as the 3 felons! :)Jill

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 06:01:11

    I know you will forgive me that I’m cracking up right now. Good luck with your fence and your surly neighbor. I have one of those, too. She wishes she could call “children control”.

    Reply

  3. Gretchen
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 20:25:12

    So sorry – but this is so funny! We’ve only had one escape so far, but we’ve only had goats for a month. Can’t wait to more adventures! Thanks for linking up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Monthly Posts

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Words! Words! Words!

- on writing, editing, and the space in-between

The Fairy Tales Me Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

365 days of reading books {2013}

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat.Love.Write.Live

Musings of an erratic mind

Snarky in the Suburbs

Middle aged, Uncool and Not Bringing Sexy Back

Lil' Suburban Homestead

Sharing Our Passion for Sustainable Living on a Budget

clburdettwrites

artandpoetryforum

Nancy Tandon

My inner writer is out to play!

Blossom

Words, Wanderlust, and Daydreams by k.c. o'leary

Write. Every. Day.

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

Life etc...

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

WanderTime

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

Out to Play

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

Irish step dancing journal

A fine WordPress.com site

The Foodie Kids Club, by Abbey O.

A place for kids who love healthy, creative food

Undercurrents

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

The Writer Within You

It's a Process

Be someone's hero. No cape required.

Lynda Mullaly Hunt, a children's author, blogs on craft, news, and the importance of everyday heroes in everyday lives.

Stonepost Farm

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

