That lady’s goats are loose again!

Several years ago, a police officer drove into my driveway to furnish me with a written warning.  On it were words admonishing me to make sure my goats didn’t go meandering down Main Street again.  Apparently, a misinformed and very nosy neighbor had called the police in the attempt to protect the innocent citizens of our town from our goats – public enemies # 1,2,and 3.  Well, the overzealous neighbor had called in advance of our goats actually leaving our farm.  In fact, they had only been grazing by the road (well inside our fence.)  Thanks, neighbor, for that public service.  I still haven’t lived down the embarrassment of the note in the following week’s town newspaper.

Fast forward to today.  If that neighbor had been witness to what was going on this afternoon, I’m sure I would have been taken in handcuffs to our otherwise inactive police station – charged with being some kind of accomplice to our escapee goats.  Yes, our goats had escaped – again.  This time, they ducked under the galvanized fencing that had been effectively penning them in all these years in search of – what else – a dip in our neighbor’s refreshing pool as well as a gourmet lunch of her hydrangeas and hostas.

I’m thankful I even saw that they were loose.  I was on my way to the clothesline to hang our bedding when I happened to look up across the pasture.  I saw three small black and white smudges moving around my neighbor’s back yard.  Looking harder, I realized what those smudges were.

“GIRLS!” I screamed.  My daughters came running out of the house and looked with wide-eyed shock at our goats pillaging the shrubs and flowers of our neighbor.  We jumped into our car and drove down the street.  Slamming the car in park, we jumped out and ran toward our goats.  We really didn’t have a single inkling as to how we were going to get these 230 pound felons back onto our property but, I hoped that the mere fact that we had made an apprearance would prove enough of an effort to keep the neighbors off our backs.

There were three landscapers at the neighbors when I arrived.  Not one of them chose to help us.  For the entire hour that it took us to chase and  corner all three of the goats, and then manage to get them back onto our property, they chose, instead, to shut off their mowers, sit back, and enjoy the show.  Free admittance to a rodeo as far as they were concerned.

My daughters were heroes.  They chased, jumped, wrangled, and coerced those animals right along with me.  Eventually, we got them back.  They are now penned in their stalls – punished for their acts of defiance.

The landscapers are gone.

The tick checks are complete – my girls are clean.

The sweat and gnats have been washed off.

My husband got a good laugh out of the whole ordeal when we regaled him with our adventure.

As for me, I’m getting pretty overwhelmed by the ridiculous side of owning a farm.  But, I don’t dare turn my back on the opportunity I’ve been given.  I’ll keep forging ahead.  Maybe someday I’ll get it all figured out.  In the meantime, feel free to join me on this crazy ride.  I’d love the company!  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Monthly Posts

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Words! Words! Words!

- on writing, editing, and the space in-between

The Fairy Tales Me Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

365 days of reading books {2013}

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Eat.Love.Write.Live

Musings of an erratic mind

Snarky in the Suburbs

Middle aged, Uncool and Not Bringing Sexy Back

Lil' Suburban Homestead

Sharing Our Passion for Sustainable Living on a Budget

clburdettwrites

artandpoetryforum

Nancy Tandon

My inner writer is out to play!

Blossom

Words, Wanderlust, and Daydreams by k.c. o'leary

Write. Every. Day.

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

Life etc...

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

WanderTime

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

Out to Play

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

Irish step dancing journal

A fine WordPress.com site

The Foodie Kids Club, by Abbey O.

A place for kids who love healthy, creative food

Undercurrents

Exploring those mysterious, underlying forces fueling a writing life

The Writer Within You

It's a Process

Be someone's hero. No cape required.

Lynda Mullaly Hunt, a children's author, blogs on craft, news, and the importance of everyday heroes in everyday lives.

Stonepost Farm

A suburban adventure, by k.c. o'leary

